The Power of Place: An Institution of Growth

As part of the Museum’s new focus on The Power of Place, we are asking members of the community to submit to us a short blurb about a place of importance in their lives – whether it’s their childhood home, their local bookstore or even a “place” in time or a place that moves around.

Today, we hear from Lindan Noel, who gives us a little peek into a place that is special to her.By Lindan Noel:

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) had such an amazing impact on my life. It is the institution that gave me opportunities, and I truly believe that without my degrees from SIUE, I wouldn’t be where I am today. SIUE was the place I called home for seven years and the place my parents can say they saw their baby girl grow up. It was a place at which I was able to grow, and I learned so much about myself while working, socializing and learning on that campus. It is the institution that taught me how to be an adult and how to be a professional. I’m so thankful for that.

Thank you, Lindan, for telling us about a place of significance in your life.

To submit a place for possible publication on our blog, go to mizelmuseum.org/submit-a-place. Also, check out our upcoming programs, wherein we explore The Power of Place through many forms of artistic expression and inspiring education:

This entry was posted in Programs, The Power of Place, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

